Believe

Believe in yourself and nothing else will matter…

This new year began with an inquisition… an attack on character. I was caught off-guard, unprepared to defend myself and it seemed that the barrage of insults would not stop. I tried to dodge them, but it seemed that it would just topple me over to the next day and the next day after that as though I was a politician caught in the middle of a smear campaign. Why that was foremost in my mind, I don’t know. Why all these things were coming up, while the year really have yet to open up, I could only hope that God has greater plans ahead of me.

I cannot dodge anymore than what I already have. It seems that I am made like David for Goliath. I like to think that I have a destiny to fulfill like Neo in The Matrix… that I would believe enough to stop the bullets fired at me. Indeed, this may be the case, but what I learned today was that there needs to be wholehearted love for ourselves. A love of our self. Totally overlooked all these years, but this is the true armor, this is the cloak that daggers cannot penetrate. A love for me. Why not love ourselves for a change, show compassion, kindness and respect for ourselves, our spirit, so that we may do the greater work, perform the ultimate mission. That when we learn to love ourselves, then we can unload the love for this world.

the grand inquisition
cannot stop me
Love,
what love there is
left inside me–
cultivated and grown
and yet microscopic
invisible even to me
(or hardly had I noticed)
the steps, the bullets taken
on behalf of my shame
I have injured my spirit
inhaling the blame
and how could I stand
knowing I was somewhere
lost in the translation!
words are words
that cannot hurt me
look first into my eyes–
try to sink me,
but if my truth weigh more,
it shall sink you.

-mr gahon 1/6/14

2 thoughts on “Believe

  1. I love this work, both the prose and the poem. I really think the prose is brilliant, but the poem could even be published on its own. Keep writing. I have a literary critique blog, so I love a good poem.

Leave a Reply

