Get Over

Lately, I’m encountering a flux of people who are just having a little trouble, going through some pretty tough challenges, wondering whether they’ll ever get over the obstacles before them. I wonder too and I wonder sometimes whether I have the words that will keep them lifted, to guide them towards an alternate perspective and allow them to see their situation in a different light. For however long I believe I’ve gotten over some of the issues I had to go through, I certainly wish many times that I got over it sooner. But here’s the thing that came to me… perhaps, we aren’t supposed to get over it that fast. Perhaps, we are supposed to endure the suffering, the burdensome thoughts that comes along with it because that is part of the journey. To find ourselves coming up with a formula on how we can battle each fear, each hesitation is part of the journey. When something comes at us and we aren’t phased by it anymore, only then do we know that we have overcome.

the journey exists,
at best prolonged,
not so much to get over,
but to endure
until all our might is
tried and pulled beyond
exhaustion; when the
trivial inside is released
from our tight fists and
control relinquished even
from our dreams can
One enter into our realms
and remove our doubts,
our fears (if allowed)

-mr gahon 1/26/15

Leave a Reply

